WHEN LIFE GIVES YOU… (Five Minute Friday: ‘Success’)

With the change in weather and obvious turn of the season to autumn this week, I had to face the fact that my tomatoes, so carefully and hopefully planted, were not going to ripen to their sweet scarlet destiny. There were plenty of fruit on the vines but they just weren’t grown to full size or ripeness. Not a gardening success this year.

And yet…

There’s that saying, isn’t there? ‘If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.’

Well, in this case I made green tomato chutney*. Nigel Slater calls it saving them from ‘a fate worse than compost’. I only had enough for one jar’s worth (Why are all the recipes for over 2kg of tomatoes? Who has that much of a glut of unripe fruit?) but mine will still serve a few meals: bringing a sweet tang to a cheese sandwich; a new topping in a burger bun; even an additional depth of flavour to a stew.

Similarly, life often takes an unlooked for, unwanted turn – that job I applied for but didn’t get offered, the sudden death of a parent, a longed for holiday interrupted by illness. The disappointment of a future, short or long term, no longer achievable.

But it’s a bend in the road not a dead end.

We might need to review and rethink our hopes and plans. We might need to rethink our definition of success in life. We might need to make green tomato chutney instead of salad.

*Here’s the recipe I used: https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/janes-green-tomato-chutney

7 thoughts on “WHEN LIFE GIVES YOU… (Five Minute Friday: ‘Success’)

  1. Yeah, well what the heck, it’s cancer
    and my death will be a trial,
    but to fate, I give this answer,
    my last gesture is a smile.
    You broke my dreams that I cherished,
    you broke the days of feelin’ fine,
    and thought that as my hope had perished,
    you’d say, “Loser, you are MINE!”
    But, y’know, it just ain’t over yet,
    and ‘y’know, I still have cards to play,
    and maybe you should stake your bet
    on a dude who will yet find a way.
    Cancer, you may think I am stuck,
    but I’ve got Jesus, and you’re f****d.

    Like

    • Andrew, you really made me smile with this.
      And, as we’re going through some tough medical stuff as a family at the moment, your reminder that Jesus has the last say is very timely – thank you.

      Like

  2. Believing in success is getting the tomatoes planted too. I didn’t get that far, but I sure did enjoy the view of the wildflowers in our new home. Gardening will happen next year. 🙂

    I loved this: “But it’s a bend in the road not a dead end.”

    You always have the most beautiful perspective.

    Like

    • Thank you Kelly. You’re so right about the planting being an act of faith too – I hadn’t thought of that. The final results just weren’t the future I’d envisaged. I guess sometimes God has other plans for us.
      We’re going through a pretty major bend in the road as a family right now but I’m grateful for the gentle lessons Jesus shows me in the garden.
      Sounds like your wildflowers hare right on gardening trend at the moment!
      God bless,
      Liz

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.