NEIGHBOUR (Five Minute Friday)

I’m still getting back into the habit of writing regularly again. So here’s a memory from my childhood prompted by the link up to the lovely Five Minute Friday community at http://fiveminutefriday.com/2017/08/31/fmf-link-up-neighbor/

I remember being so excited as a child when a new family moved in next door, who had a girl only a few years younger than me.

Regularly I would place an old wooden ladder, spattered in paint, against the fence and then climb to the top in hopes of seeing Kirsty and getting an invitation to come and play. If she was there, we would chat, and occasionally we’d play together. Her mum didn’t seem to approve of my entry route over the fence.

It wasn’t the bosom friendship I’d pictured but we got on well.

I can’t say the same for our fathers.

My dad loved growing fruit and veg so couldn’t understand why Colin had patioed over their entire garden. My dad was a quiet man, getting up early to commute into central London, and his social life revolved around church. Colin was self employed, working to his own schedule, and loved to throw a party. Boy, did he love to throw a party.

He never invited us but several times a week held noisy parties long into the night. It didn’t go down well with my dad for his whole family to be disturbed so frequently. But Colin made no concessions to requests to stop or limit the parties to weekends only.

One night, Dad had enough. Another sleepless night and requests to tone things down once more ignored, he decide to take drastic action. So he turned our loudspeakers right up against the wall, put the volume to maximum, and played his favourite bagpipe music.

You’ve never seen a house clear so quickly.

Angry words were exchanged. But there were no more late night parties.

 

6 thoughts on “NEIGHBOUR (Five Minute Friday)

  1. Yay- another British person who spells neighbour with a u! 🙂
    I liked your story too. I can imagine the bagpipe music cleared the place pretty quickly!

    Like

    • Hello to you too, Tondra! We don’t realise how precious our ordinary childhoods were until we’re older, do we? God bless x

      Like

  2. Bagpipes! Your dad knew how to get his point across in the long run! Thanks for sharing your memory.
    Your kind of neighbor (68)
    I was always excited if there were new children in my neighborhood my age too.

    Like

    • Thanks Kelly. When Auld Land Syne is played at New Year on the pipes, I always remember this. Glad to meet you x

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.