INSPIRE (Five Minute Friday)

I’m finding it hard to start this week’s Five Minute Friday post http://fiveminutefriday.com/2017/07/27/fmf-link-up-inspire/. I know what I want to say but I can’t seem to find a good introduction, a meaningful way in, a hook. I’ve rewritten this first paragraph three times. (And yes, I know that Five Minute Friday is meant to be a fast write without editing). I need inspiration.

So I looked up the origins of the word to check if it was what I thought. And there it was, to inspire means to breathe in.

It’s used medically to mean exactly that. But it comes from the idea to breathe into:

‘And the Lord God formed man of the dust of the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and man became a living soul.’ [Genesis 2.7]

I read that and suddenly I picture, not a gentle flow of air wafting up the nostrils, but God leaning right over a lifeless body on the ground doing mouth to mouth. God does the first ever CPR. And if you’ve ever done CPR, even just learning it for First Aid with a Resusci-Annie doll, you’ll know it’s hard work: you have to force the air into the lungs; you have to keep going before it works (if it does – it’s rarely as successful as on TV dramas).

I think it’s same with inspiration. It’s easy to think that it’s some one-off moment and then the inspired response (writing, art, a political movement, a way of life) just flows naturally from it. But actually, it takes hard work, constant hard work over a sustained period.

But God, if we let Him, will keep breathing life into our words and our lives. And He calls us to do the same.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7rK6O0YtBRY

2 thoughts on “INSPIRE (Five Minute Friday)

Leave a Reply

