COMFORT Food (Five Minute Friday)

Five Minute Friday is a community of bloggers who get together weekly to write for (literally) five minutes on  a prompt word. They’re a great source of support and encouragement and I recommend you check them out at http://fiveminutefriday.com/2017/07/13/where-do-you-find-comfort/

Why, when I saw this week’s prompt, did I immediately think of food? Perhaps it’s because I’d been listening to a radio interview this morning with a cook who has written her first book of recipes inspired by her nanna’s, simple dishes which she described as those that everyone loves and feels comforted by.

I know, rightly or wrongly, that I do turn to food for comfort in times of stress. So when I saw ‘comfort’, I thought of cheese on toast, eaten meltingly hot from the grill, dipped in cooling tangy ketchup. I thought of bittersweet chocolate biscuits – has to be dark chocolate on digestive, nothing else – served with cold refreshing milk.

Both of these were late Friday night suppers in my early teens, tucked into after nearly two hours of swimming lessons. A light tea earlier on, to make sure I had the required energy but didn’t get cramp in the water, needed supplementing by the time I came home, and I devoured these whilst the whole family crammed into every chair in our front room to watch Pot Black on the TV. No Sky or even a video recorder then so 9.00pm was the tight deadline to keep to. Even my grandmother watched, although my parents thought she didn’t understand the game, just enjoyed the colourfulness of the snooker balls.

Maybe the real comfort is in these safe, happy, familiar memories of childhood and family, that sense of sharing and being loved. Perhaps certain foods are a way to access those feelings again.

It’s easy to focus on the thing itself, the food, and assume that is the comfort I need but surely the true source of the strength I seek is the knowledge that I am held safely, that I am not alone, and that I am loved.

‘The eternal God is your refuge and underneath are the everlasting arms’ (Deuteronomy 33.27)

(I couldn’t write a post about food and love without including a picture of some of the amazing cakes my best friend has made and comforted us with over the years. I wonder if God bakes cupcakes?)

6 thoughts on “COMFORT Food (Five Minute Friday)

    • Thanks Nichole. It was only by writing about it that I made the connection. Now to think about how find the real comfort without having to go through the calories!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Scripture speaks of the importance of food as part of community gatherings. In the simplest form-bread; in more elaborate details-the wedding feasts and the party celebrating the return of the prodigal son. “The LORD of hosts will prepare a lavish banquet for all peoples on this mountain; A banquet of aged wine, choice pieces with marrow, And refined, aged wine.” Sharing food celebrates the provision of God and His creative hand, I look forward to a beautiful eternal banquet someday-including those cakes you pictured here!

    Like

    • Food is so much more than physical nourishment, isn’t it? So symbolic.
      And yes, my friend’s cakes are truly heavenly . These are her poppy cakes, made for Remembrance Day.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a timely post. I feel like God has been putting so many items about food in front of me as of late. I am working on meal planning, despite my seeming incapability of sticking with one. I’ve had an entry in a day book I’m reading all about planning meals and celebrating them (instead of just getting through them for nutritional sustenance), I got an Instant Pot on Amazon Prime Day, I had another blog post focused on food and then this one! I feel like God is impressing upon me how important this idea of the family meal is so I will be more likely to stick with the plan! Thanks for sharing! I love the memories, despite not recognizing any of the foods or TV show because I’m in America. 🙂

    Like

    • I’m so glad to hear this was timely for you. It seemed a little trivial when I started to write it.
      And for translation: Pot Black was a BBC snooker competition big in the 1970s and 80s, not a big show but it made the sport generally popular; digestive are Graham crackers; but if you’ve never had cheese on toast (or it’s more sophisticated cousin, Welsh Rarebit), you’ve really missed out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

