MORE (Five Minute Friday)

‘Always remember you are

Braver than you believe,

Stronger than you seem,

Smarter than you think,

And loved more than you know.’

I saw the sign in a local DIY store and somehow it hit home. It’s what I want my kids to believe, especially when life treats them harshly, that they have more resources to cope and more back up than they realise.

And I want them to know the source of that courage, strength and love. Not just how many people love them, or how much we love them, but also that their Heavenly Father loves them with an unimaginably vast love, which they can rely and call on at any time. I want them to know, in all its vastness, how personal and individual it is for them, and how much more they can be – more secure, more resilient, more fulfilled – when they trust in His love for them.

I’m reminded of a book we read when they were children that described someone special and ended with the words, ‘Do you want to know what a special person looks like?’ and a page that was a mirror. Or of the Simpsons episode where Lisa develops a close relationship with an inspirational substitute teacher: when he leaves, he writes her a note that will be all she needs to know whenever she feels alone; it says, ‘You are Lisa Simpson’.

I want my children to know how special they are but I want more for them. I want them to know that they are not just special but treasured. I want them to know for sure that they are loved. I try to model that steady hope, unswerving trust, and extravagant love but I hope that, as the moon is to the sun, they realise my love (which feels enormous) is only a reflection of how much more they can find in God’s.

This post is my weekly link up with the Five Minute Friday community, hosted at http://katemotaung.com/ where we each write for 5 minutes on a one word prompt. Check out some of the other blogs on the site.

 

4 thoughts on “MORE (Five Minute Friday)

    • Thank you Carol – it’s great to know where the quote is from. It’s a long time since my kids were young enough Pooh Bear, although we still sometimes give in to the prompt of a bridge over a fast moving stream: no one’s too old for Poohsticks!

      Like

  1. This really touched my heart. It’s not just our kids that need to hear this, but we do too! I love that quote you saw in the DIY store. Thanks for the encouragement today FMF#87

    Like

Leave a Reply

