NOTICE (Day 19 Write 31 Days)

Working with people dying has sometimes made me question my place in life. Feeling stressed, I wrote this some years ago when a patient of similar age and circumstances to me died – it made me wonder at the time whether I made a difference being in the world and if anyone noticed. Thankfully, since then, time has brought me a confidence and sense of both purpose and perspective.

 

TEMPERATURE GAUGE

 

Hot stove hot words

Understanding extracted with the steam

Can’t you be on my side

See how fragile I’ve become

Would you miss me if I’m gone?

 

Would there be a bit more mess

Would you buy more ready meals

I wonder do I make a difference

Would you miss me if I’m gone?

 

Cold hands cold words

Vulnerability hides behind the ice

Can you see the real me

Love the whole of who I am

Would you miss me if I’m gone?

 

Would the laundry still get done

Who would empty all the bins

Is there more to me than this

Would you miss me if I’m gone?

 

Warm heart warm smiles

Hopefulness trembles behind my eyes

Perhaps life holds a unique hole

That only I can fill

And you might miss me if I’m gone.

 

Leave a Reply

