MUDDLE (Day 8 Write 31 Days)

How apt today’s prompt is – for this is how my head feels this morning: a muddle, tired from yesterday’s unexpected (and unwelcome) events, trying to reprioritise and reschedule tasks left undone, tasks booked to do, and new tasks now added to the list.

The prompt is inspired by this instruction from 40 Days Of Tiny Adventures With God by Charissa Steyn  at https://charissasteyn.com/:

‘Make a mess today – however that looks for you’.

I don’t need to make a mess today. Life has done it for me. The two clear days I had set aside for completing a pile of admin and blocking out time to care for myself with exercise and creativity (after a stressful week at work) have been wiped out by my dad’s sudden admission to hospital. And in the muddle of thoughts in my head, it’s hard not to be reminded of her hospital admissions in the last 6 months of my mum’s life.

To be honest, I’d rather be writing about the kind of muddle involved in making a cocktail. I like cocktails. I’ve even got a suitable photo (or two) to include.

bombay-sapphire-cocktails       13116070_10154147425918126_5697854742165410897_o

But to muddle the ingredients for a cocktail means to smash, press, and stir in order to extract essential oils or juice. And perhaps that’s exactly what’s happening to me this weekend. St Paul puts it this way:

“We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed.” (2 Cor. 4.8-9).

Lord, bring out the essential oil in me and use this muddle to turn me into Your cocktail – something more than the sum of its parts.

wp_20150731_21_51_51_pro(And if you’re wondering, this one’s a Gin Garden!)

Leave a Reply

