Journeys in Parenting: Breakfast and Kanye

Tomorrow is my youngest’s 18th birthday when, to quote him I will ‘no longer have any children’! So here are two poems inspired by him in the last year:

YEAR OF THE MONKEY

That chubby cherubic grin

Enhanced by grandad’s glint

Now sits six foot up

Cartooned in highlighter

As you breakfast (in public!)

Suited and booted –

Except for tracksuit bottoms –

After a hard night’s partying.

I shake my head…

and smile.

 

HEY MAMA

Miles of motorway

Open road to open days

Potential future at the end of each journey

Reliving my own past

Three ages caught in one journey

Time to make the most of our time

Before he leaves

 

Miles of motorway:

I drive;

He chooses the soundtrack.

And I have learned to like (some) rap music:

Its energetic ebb and flow,

Playfulness with words,

Poetry with extra (hotline) bling.

I’ve even changed my mind about Kanye West –

A pretentious man it seems to me

With only a flat talent for singing –

Whose gift for rhythm, internal rhyme, and

Heartfelt lyrics moves me

Like my son.

One song he plays repeatedly

And I wonder

If the words are meant for me.

Are they his sideways attempt

To tell me how he feels

About us?

12967556_10154075645213126_6535235245866835174_o[1]

Leave a Reply

